Kimberly-Clark Professional launches Golden Service Awards 2011

Published: 5-Nov-2010

Opportunity to give cleaning teams the recognition they deserve

Kimberly-Clark Professional, in partnership with the Cleaning and Support Services Association (CSSA), has announced the launch of the next Golden Service Awards and the 20th anniversary of the programme.

The awards, which offer contract cleaning companies and in-house professionals the opportunity to promote the excellent work carried out by cleaning teams and give them the recognition they deserve, officially commence on 1 February 2011. Entrants have until midday on 29 April 2011 to send in their applications.

“Acknowledged internationally as the hallmark of quality and a powerful tool in the promotion of excellence, the Golden Service Awards are also run in Benelux and South Africa," said Michel Le Borgne, marketing manager, UK, Ireland and Benelux at Kimberly-Clark Professional.

“For the 20th anniversary of the programme in the UK, we expect to receive more than 150 entries, of which there will be 19 winners announced at the awards ceremony,” he added.

New categories have been added to the awards to further enhance the programme and offer more companies the chance of success. Additionally, a few categories have been slightly revised to make the entry process easier and more efficient. In 2011, the categories will be as follows:

    Best Cleaned Premises:
    1. Educational Establishment (schools, colleges, universities)
    2. Public Sector Buildings (excluding offices)
    3. Healthcare Establishment (hospitals, care establishments)
    4. Individual Retail Unit (new award)
    5. Large Retail Establishment (supermarkets, department stores, shopping malls)
    6. Manufacturing (factories, processing plants, power generation stations)
    7. Transport (airports, rail/bus stations, ferry terminals)
    8. Hospitality (hotels, restaurants, catering, leisure)
    9. Offices below 50,000 sq. ft. (either all or part of a building)
    10. Offices above 50,001 sq. ft. (either all or part of a building)
    11. C&M Best Cleaned Premises (office buildings above 500,000 sq. ft.)
    12. The Cleaning & Support Services Association (CSSA) award for excellence in a small cleaning business (for companies with a turnover of less than £3m per year)
    13. The Best Specialist Cleaning Company Award (for companies which specialise in a particular cleaning field)
    14. The Health & Safety Award (for companies which have taken significant steps to improve Health & Safety in the workplace)
    15. The Diversey Environmental Awareness Award (for companies which have taken significant steps in their treatment of the environment)
    16. The BICSc Industry Training Award (for cleaning service companies with excellent innovative training strategies that give consideration to national training policy and provide quantifiable benefits to both organisations and individuals)
    17. Service Delivery Innovation of the Year (for cleaning service companies that can demonstrate successful management innovation in the delivery of cleaning service leading to improved customer satisfaction)
    18. The BCC Site Supervisor of the Year (for excellent performance by a site supervisor)
    19. The Kimberly-Clark Professional Cleaner of the Year (for excellent performance by a cleaning operative)

The 2011 application process will be by entry form only. Forms can be downloaded from the website at:, although the Awards will only be open for entry from February 2011. More information about the entry process, as well as hints and tips for submitting a winning application, will be available in the February issue of Cleaning & Maintenance magazine.

The Golden Service Awards are open to all segments of the cleaning and support services industry in the UK and Ireland. Any small, medium or large contract cleaning company or in-house cleaning team can enter and it is important to note that the awards are judged not on the size of the business, but on the quality of the service provided. Companies do not have to be a customer of Kimberly-Clark Professional or registered with any trade associations to enter the Golden Service Awards 2011.

“The judging process for the Golden Service Awards 2011 will be overseen by the British Institute of Cleaning Science (BICSc),” said Stan Atkins, ceo of BICSc. “We are delighted to take ownership of this most crucial part of the awards.”

Initial judging is based on the entry form submission. From this, a number of finalists are selected in each category. These are visited by a judge. There is only one judge responsible for each category, so that all entries are equally assessed.

The Golden Service Awards ceremony will take place on 4 November 2011 at the Lancaster London Hotel. More than 500 members of the industry and press are expected to attend.

Full details of the programme will be available from February 2011 at For more information in the meantime, e-mail: or call: +44 8000 192 422

You may also like